History of Graphic Design

February 23, 2012

The person I was assigned was Chip Kidd. He is an author, editor, and graphic designer most famous for his book covers. He turns out an average of 75 book covers a year and USA Today has even said that if the graphic design world had a rock star, he would most certainly be it. His most notable book cover was Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton. He’s also into the comic book world a little bit as he’s done stuff for Batman, Superman, and The Watchmen. Despite my love of books and enthusiasm of comics, I don’t really like his art. I mean, there are some pieces that are like, “wow, I like that” (like The Learners and Jurassic Park’s covers) but on average, none of his really jump out at me and make me say “Oh wow, I like that a lot.”

Leave a Reply

